Mathias Eick: “Edinburgh” from the album “Skala”

Mathias Eick: trumpet
Andreas Ulvo: piano
Audun Erlien: electric bass
Torstein Lofthus: drums
Gard Nilssen: drums
Morten Qvenild: keyboards
Tore Brunborg: tenor saxophone
Sidsel Walstad: harp

Mathias Eick’s intensely melodic trumpet occupies the centre-stage in this album of self-penned tunes which will appeal to an audience beyond “jazz”. Against the powerful backdrops offered by his sleek, modern band, driven by two drummers, he delivers richly lyrical soliloquies.

Recorded December 2009 – January 2010
ECM 2187

ECM Player:…